Endarkenment Redecoration Project   4 comments

In the Winter Solstice spirit of embracing the darkness and the longest night of the year…

Inspired by dark ritual ambient music, dark fusion dance, and the deepening of autumn and the coming of winter, here are some photos from the Oct. 2013 Endarkenment Redecoration Project at the Hermitage in downtown Portland, OR, USA.  This is my newly redecorated studio and mini temple space, where I live, work, and serve as temple keeper.  The Black Tent Temple and Psychomanteum (mirror gazing room) is now completed, and over the next few weeks I will be booking the first exploratory psychomanteum sessions for friends of the Hermitage.

This is as close as I have ever come to my dream place to live and work, and all the more satisfying because I accomplished this almost entirely with thrift store finds on a shoestring budget.

I feel so blessed to be able to live here and do this work creating sacred space for dark temple arts in service of the divine.

*********************

The Black Stone, namesake of the Hermitage

The Black Stone, namesake of the Hermitage: a 50mm black obsidian sphere, with two smaller black obsidian stones alongside it. The stone is my teacher; every day I bow into deeper service to it.

One side of the meditation and ritual dance space. In the background, behind the dark ambient shrine, is the kitchen.

One side of the meditation and ritual dance space. In the background, behind the dark ambient shrine, is the kitchen.

A framed mirror and Hermit-themed tarot art in the entryway to the Hermitage.

A framed mirror and Hermit-themed tarot art in the entryway to the Hermitage.

The sanctuary area behind the entryway, featuring shelves with shrines. Beside the shrines is the new psychomanteum (incubation space/mirror gazing room.)

The sanctuary area behind the entryway, featuring shelves with shrines. Beside the shrines is the new psychomanteum (incubation space/mirror gazing room.)

A close-up of the dark ambient music & dark art shrine, looking into the kitchen.

A close-up of the dark ambient music & dark art shrine, looking into the kitchen.

The meditation and ritual dance spot. On the right is a bookshelf with belly dance instructional DVDs and tea books; on top of the bookshelf is my ancestor shrine.

The meditation and ritual dance spot. On the right is a bookshelf with belly dance instructional DVDs and tea books; on top of the bookshelf is my ancestor shrine.

A gothic-style mirror draped with black fringe framing an end table.

A gothic-style mirror draped with black fringe framing an end table.

Looking into the entryway from the dance area. Great view of the Hermitage library. The black curtains can be drawn shut on all sides to provide a sense of enclosure in the sanctuary area where the shrines and the psychomanteum are located.

Looking into the entryway from the dance area. Great view of the Hermitage library. The black curtains can be drawn shut on all sides to provide a sense of enclosure in the sanctuary area where the shrines and the psychomanteum are located.

The door to the new psychomanteum – a portal or spiritual incubation space, a.k.a. mirror gazing room. I will be scheduling the first exploratory sessions very soon!

The door to the new psychomanteum – a portal or spiritual incubation space, a.k.a. mirror gazing room. I will be scheduling the first exploratory sessions very soon!

Framed art at the Hermitage – H.R. Giger #312, “Biomechanoid Landscape,” and Todd Lockwood, “Hell Friezes 1: Cerberus.”

Framed art at the Hermitage – H.R. Giger #312, “Biomechanoid Landscape,” and Todd Lockwood, “Hell Friezes 1: Cerberus.”

Framed art at the Hermitage – a beatific bellydancer (artist unknown), and a promotional poster from the very first Raqs Oubliettes event (2011) at the Lovecraft Bar.

Framed art at the Hermitage – a beatific bellydancer (artist unknown), and a promotional poster from the very first Raqs Oubliettes event (2011) at the Lovecraft Bar.

The Hermit shrine in the sanctuary area, directly in front of the psychomanteum.

The Hermit shrine in the sanctuary area, directly in front of the psychomanteum.

The futon loveseat at the Hermitage. It can be pulled out into a full-size bed.

The futon loveseat at the Hermitage. It can be pulled out into a full-size bed.

The tea ritual area at the Hermitage, featuring a new table with adjustable drop-leaf sides. Very nice when I want to free up more room for dance practice!

The tea ritual area at the Hermitage, featuring a new table with adjustable drop-leaf sides. Very nice when I want to free up more room for dance practice!

*********************

4 responses to “Endarkenment Redecoration Project

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love all of these photos, the power and intent is humming through all of them. I love the colors, the tools you have set up, and all of the decorations you were able to use in such a creative way. You have inspired me to try my hand at building a shrine of my own (it has called to me, but I haven’t had the chance to yet.)

    I imagine your Gods and Spirits are very happy with the new arrangement.

    • Thank you! I’m especially pleased to hear that the intent comes through so clearly in the photos. I have been completely obsessed with this redecoration project, and it felt very urgent (spiritually speaking, I mean) that I get it done as soon as possible, because there is Work assigned for me to do that requires a properly arranged space to support it. Because I don’t drive and have been handling everything completely on my own, it took an immense amount of time and energy to accomplish everything – hauling heavy and cumbersome things around in my wheeled cart on public transit by myself, coordinating bus schedules back and forth to the hardware store, making the rounds to Portland’s thrift stores, etc. I’m thrilled that it is finally finished!

      I love the colours too. As far back as I can remember, I have wanted a space that is almost entirely decked out in black and purple. Purple – especially the deep jewel tone purple – has been my favourite colour since I was a child. If I had my way, the walls and floors would be dark colours too, but since the unit is a rental, that isn’t feasible right now. My hope, of course, is that when the time is right and the proper supports are in place, the Hermitage will find its new home in a place where it’s feasible to have a subterranean incubation space, and hopefully I’ll have more creative freedom then. For now, I do what I can with what I have available. It’s quite a challenge to make a space seem enticingly dark and cave-like when you live on the seventh floor of a condo building. :)

      I’ve been inspired by the Goth It Yourself blog – if you like what I’ve done here, be sure to check that blog out, if you haven’t seen it! Sure wish something like it had been around when I started out with goth home decorating in the early 1990s.

      http://gothityourself.blogspot.com/

      There have been many confirmatory omens and answered prayers from Those I serve, so I am under the impression that They are happy with the work I’ve done so far. There have also been several new folks expressing interest in booking psychomanteum sessions, participating in midnight tea rituals, and arranging for visits from out of town, so I suppose I’m doing something right…:)

      Glad to hear that my work has provided some inspiration for you. Best of luck with your shrine-building!

  2. You have a really inspired sense of design – this is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

