Chthonic Cathedral Playlist: Dark Ambient for Grief and Mourning   1 comment

Figures of Mystery - Grief and MourningToday I had the pleasure of serving as a host for a guest at the Hermitage who scheduled a session in the psychomanteum, and asked me for a dark ambient music playlist with a grief and mourning theme.

My guest was very happy with the playlist, and I let her know I would make it available here.  She told me she was already a fan of Kammarheit, so I complimented her on her excellent taste, and started off with one of his tracks.

I feel so fortunate to be able to do this kind of service work. It is a joy for me to create sacred space – even on a very small scale – and to have the privilege of witnessing its effects on people when they experience it.

To also be able to share the music that is nearest and dearest to my heart in a context of such appreciation is a pleasure beyond compare.

I read somewhere about volunteer service work that “it isn’t service unless both people are being served.” I am glad I’ve found one of the ways I can best be of service as a Pagan monastic – to the gods and spirits as well as my extended community (including the many musicians whose work inspires me and keeps me company in my sanctuary of solitude).

In the process of conducting this service, I too am served.

Here are the tracks I selected.

For prep/orientation time:

  1. Kammarheit – Hypnagoga
  2. Psychomanteum – Inward Eyes

For the 1-hour psychomanteum session:

  1. raison d’être – Mourning
  2. Claustrum – Penitential
  3. Cisfinitum – District Delta
  4. Phelios – The Funeral of the Wizard
  5. Maldur Atai – Endless Labyrinth of Chanting
  6. FoetusDreams – Revealed Behind the Gates
  7. Desiderii Marginis – Come Ruin and Rapture
  8. New Risen Throne – Lands Filled With Silence and Grief
  9. Skadi – Sadness of Love
  10. Arcana – Closure
  11. Sophia – Miserere
One response to “Chthonic Cathedral Playlist: Dark Ambient for Grief and Mourning

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Delving Into the Dark: A Dark Ambient Playlist for Móðguðr and Hela | The Black Stone Hermitage

Leave a Reply

