The Black Tent Temple Project Update   12 comments

Alberto Martini, Illustration for the works of Edgar Allan PoeAwhile back, I wrote about some correspondence I had received in May from a fellow Pagan, Gerrie Ordaz, who loved the original post I made in 2012 about my Black Tent Temple project, and the page I maintain here about it. She asked me if she could “steal” the idea and build one of her own.

I encouraged her to take the idea and run with it. And she did! She announced it on her blog, and then got approval from the organiser of the Earth Traditions Oasis summer retreat in northern Illinois to host a Black Tent Temple at the event. Here’s her description of it, taken from the event program guide (PDF):

The Black Tent Temple

“You may have heard of the Red Tent Movement, inspired by the book The Red Tent by Anita Diamant. The Red Tent movement is a homegrown movement where women come together and create a sacred area where they can gather to share and celebrate – a portable Temple. The Black Tent Temple is a sacred place set aside, for all genders, to “go dark.” A place of blacks and purples, of quiet, depth, candles and incense, with a black scrying mirror to contact departed ancestors and seek guidance. A place of contemplation, grieving and/or devotion where “dark” deities may be honored. Join your Temple Guide, Gerrie Ordaz, under the waning moon for an experience in sacred space. It will begin at 6pm and run until sunrise the next morning. Bring whatever statuary, material, beads, mirrors, music, etc. you are called to share.”

This is the first Black Tent Temple space I know about that has been built outside of my hermitage in Portland. And I am thrilled to hear about it! Gerrie reports that it was very well received, that one attendee has asked to spread it further, and that she will probably offer it again next year.  She is also writing up a blog post in which she will offer some tips for improvement based on her experience.

For a bit of inspiration, I’ve adapted the header image for this blog slightly for the Black Tent Temple Project.  Anyone who builds one is welcome to use the tagline “The Black Tent Temple Project: Honouring Incubation and Endarkenment” and modify this image to meet your needs.  (If you do decide to use it, I would appreciate a credit to me, Danica Swanson, and a link back to this page.)

Black Tent Temple Project

It’s beautiful to see this vision reach beyond my humble hermitage and find a more dedicated place in the world. I won’t quite say the floodgates have opened, but it certainly seems like some kind of gate has opened, because over the past few months I’ve received several more enthusiastic letters and seen several comments from people who find the idea appealing and want to build their own Black Tent Temples.

Here are some quotes taken from a beautiful post written by one of these people:

“…I wait for my mind to stop the chatter and for there to be a single thought: This. This thing.

“That’s what happened when I was browsing the Many Gods West program and came across Danica’s shrine to Skadi, and thus her monastic practice.

“God, I’m still freezing cold just thinking about it.

“My mind is a flood of images now. I’m understanding that La Abuela, whoever She is, or if She is a collective of divinities, whoever They are that make her up, wants me to be a temple for her. I am to embody my service to her in a very real way. […]

“I first learned of the practice of incubation in reading Apocalyptic Witchcraft, and it struck me as being something that I had a propensity for already. Several years of doing nightly yoga classes in low light, my habit of preferring quiet contemplation over most anything else, my intense affinity for closed, intimate spaces over sweeping views. A hike to a cave or pond is much more interesting to me than a hike to a vista.

It’s all coming back to me…

“I was a goth once. No, really. Heavy black eyeliner, inverted cross necklaces, corsets, skulls. Then I became pagan and worshiped death gods. Then I stopped being pagan and still was obsessed with the dark. Then I went to college in New York City and got sick because there was no darkness there, no quiet, no place to incubate and listen to the soil. Then I turned my bedroom into an incubation chamber: heavy curtains, candles, a shoddy attempt at soundproofing my door. I spent time in dark, quiet, solitude on a nightly basis and began to get my sanity back. Then I moved in with a relative who had the TV on 24/7 and started to get sick again. Then I went to a few pagan solstice services and experienced my first “tent temple”, with god-impersonators, and realized that this shit is powerful.”

Lo is right. It’s powerful indeed. (Go read the rest of the post at rotwork – it’s excellent!)

As I wrote in a comment to Lo, there are only a handful of us doing this right now, but judging by the level of enthusiasm I’m seeing in the correspondence I’ve received and the closely spaced timing of these correspondences, I’m increasingly getting the sense that the seeds of an underground movement (both literal and figurative!) have somehow been sown. The few who’ve taken up this work so far have told me that they’ve found that it addresses a long-unmet need in a way that piques great interest whenever they share the vision with others.

One day I hope to collect enough material to put together a website featuring images and descriptions of Black Tent Temples all over the world where people can “go dark” for spiritual incubation work, Earth grief work, solitary contemplation, dark ritual dance, and so on.

If you’re inspired to build one yourself, please do! You can consult my previous post about it for some suggestions, including a recommendation for Peter Kingsley’s book In The Dark Places of Wisdom (you can also read an excerpt from the book and a review of it), which was one of my original inspirations to do this.  I would love to see photos, videos, written descriptions of the space and the process of building it, interviews with participants about their experience…whatever you’d like to share.

I’m considering the possibility of building a Black Tent Temple at Many Gods West in 2016, perhaps as a collaborative effort.  I will post updates periodically.  Suggestions are welcome, especially if you plan to attend MGW next year and/or pay a visit to my hermitage in Portland someday.  What would you like to see in a space like this?  What would make it useful and worthwhile for you?  Please post your ideas (and inspirational photos) in the comments!

12 responses to “The Black Tent Temple Project Update

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you so much for your continued support and inspiration! I plan to use the header you’ve created. Gorgeous!
    Blessings of the Dark Mother.

    • Glad to hear it, Gerrie! I’m glad you like the image I created. And I look forward to your upcoming post with tips on improvement based on your experience. That will be very valuable for others who are interested in building Black Tent Temples of their own.

  2. If you do decide to build a Black Tent Temple at MGW in 2016, if you did it collaboratively, and if I’m able to attend MGW (yay ifs!), I’d love to be a collaborator. Will come back to this to post ideas when my brain is being more coherent again.

    • I think that if I do build one – and assuming I’m able to attend MGW next year, it’s likely that I will – I will want it to be a collaborative effort. It’s one thing to host a private Black Tent Temple space at my hermitage, and another thing entirely to host one at an event with hundreds of people. It’s something I haven’t tried yet, and I think I’ll need to come up with a much different plan than I’ve used before for the one-on-one incubation sessions I’ve hosted. But there seems to be such a strong need for this sort of space, which makes me think it’ll be worth doing no matter what. So if the gods and spirits decide They want this done, I’m confident that it’ll get done somehow. That’s how I pulled off Skaði’s shrine room, even though I was broke and struggling and had no idea if She would even allow me to build a shrine for Her at a SUMMER event (Her communications always seem to slow to a trickle in the summer). She stepped in and guided the process from start to finish.

      In any case, I’d love to hear your ideas whenever you have a chance to go into greater detail. I appreciated your presence in Skaði’s shrine room and your comments about it, and since you are also a fellow cave-dwelling introvert I think we are already on the same page in many ways. Take some time, meditate on it, and see what comes up for you. There’s certainly no rush. If you don’t want to post your thoughts here, you’re welcome to e-mail me at shrine.of.skadi AT gmail. One other person has expressed interest in collaborating on this project too. We will see where things go from here!

  3. The Black Tent I set up at Oasis was a collaborative one. As you were thinking, within a community context I think it makes sense to allow for collaboration. Also, I really enjoyed facilitating a process where we are all thought of as Priest/esses and can handle such Work and be trusted to contribute to it.

    • Yes, I think it would work best as a peer-facilitation type of thing where all who attend are trusted to do this work and respond responsibly to any needs that may arise in the context of the Temple space. I don’t think I’d frame it as thinking of everyone as a Priest/Priestess, though, because I think of that role as a very specific one with specific kinds of leadership skills that not everyone has.

  4. Pingback: Staying Job-Free, So I Can Work: Toward Community Supported Hermitage | The Black Stone Hermitage

  5. Pingback: Hermitage Support Strategy Update | The Black Stone Hermitage

  6. Pingback: Interview with Danica Swanson, resident hermit and CEO (Creative Endarkenment Overseer) | The Black Stone Hermitage

  7. Pingback: My Vision for the Future of the Hermitage | The Black Stone Hermitage

  8. Pingback: A Black Tent Temple by Gerrie Ordaz | The Black Stone Hermitage

Leave a Reply

