My Polytheism: Contemplative Solitary Monastic Practice   2 comments

SBH_5416

My meditation and lectio divina corner at the Hermitage. Photo by Ilana Hamilton.

My new post on Medium is now published!  It started out as a list of my contemplative practices, but then it expanded into a contribution to the My Polytheism project, which was recently launched by Jolene Dawe to celebrate diversity in polytheism.  Yay!  If you haven’t seen the blog yet, I recommend you go check it out!  I love this whole project, but especially this:

Sacred Hospitality. This is the common ground our communities need to be built around. Not same-ness. Not dogma. Not gate-keeping. Hospitality. What good is the hospitality we extend to our Spirits, Gods, and assorted Powers, if we are utter shit to our fellow humans? We have to build up. We have to be approachable. At least, I want us to be approachable. And, if you’re here, I’m assuming you do, as well.”

YES YES YES.

2 responses to “My Polytheism: Contemplative Solitary Monastic Practice

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is amazing! I had no idea there were other Pagans inclined toward monasticism!

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment and let me know! Comments like yours remind me of one of the main reasons I remain committed to hospitality as part of my path of monastic service – it’s important to get the word out there that Pagan monasticism is, or can be, a thing that we do!

Leave a Reply

